RSS

Back from America & Year 2

20 Sep
Image

Dubai skyline from the plane on my flight back to Addis on Sept. 1

It’s been over three months now since my last post and a lot has happened. I’ve been back in Ethiopia for about three weeks now since my vacation back home to the good old USofA. I spent most of August back home in Missouri with family and friends. On August 9th, my second night home for vacation I went with my mom to the Missouri State Fair to see Starship and Foreigner in concert. All I can say is – amazing. Also while I was at the state fair I chowed down on some delicious deep fried Oreos. Again, amazing. Apart from the Foreigner concert, I had a BBQ with my friends from high school, took the GRE, took a road trip to Indianapolis to see friends and to take a quick trip to DePauw. Visiting DePauw was nice but made me feel very nostalgic. A pit-stop at Marvins was deemed necessary. I had been craving a GCB (Marvs’ famous garlic cheeseburger) for some time. I had tons of great food, saw a lot of friends and family and really just got to relax and take in everything beautiful about America that I had missed during my first year in the Peace Corps. 

DePauw Friends in Indy!!

DePauw Friends in Indy!!

On September 1st, I got back to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia to begin my Mid-service conference (MSC) with my fellow G7 PCVs (the group I came into country with, June ’12). It was great to reconnect and experience share with my fellow G7ers as some of them live on the complete other side of the country and I barely get to see them. After a week in Addis for MSC I headed back to Aman to enjoy the Ethiopian New Year with my friends back at site. Ethiopian New Years ended up being a little strange since the holiday fell on one of the traditional Ethiopian Christian fasting days where no one eats meat. For that reason I missed the main feast with doro wat (chicken wat) and the works that I guess took place on the Tuesday before the Ethiopian New Year that coincidentally enough falls on September, 11 almost every year. Nonetheless, I did get to visit with friends and I ate some really good food and drank plenty of coffee.

Over the past couple of weeks since being back in Aman I’ve had time to reflect on my first year and my trip back home to the states. Going back home really helped put things into perspective. Living in Ethiopia and life as a Peace Corps volunteer in general can be challenging. There are days that you just feel like you are going crazy or you feel like nothing is going right. There are days that cravings for good ole American food are so strong that every time you see someone talk about or post a picture of what they are eating on Facebook or Twitter makes you just want to never talk to that person every again in your life. Then there are the days that being called ‘you, you, ferenji, ferenji’ or even ‘China, china’ will make you want to choke someone. However, there are these little moments that are hard to explain that just make the whole experience worth it and going back to the US for vacation really helped me realize how lucky I was to be having this experience. Yes some days are hard and I have to admit there were some days over the past year that I just wanted to give up and come home. However, I powered through and now I’m excited about year two. I know how things work for the most part or at least what to expect. I have about 10 months to go and a lot of great ideas for activities to do at my school for the 2006 (Ethiopian calendar) academic year. I just have to think back to what I told my recruiter in Chicago when I had my interview for the Peace Corps. “Even if all my projects fail, if I can just put a smile on someone’s face and inspire them in some way that will make me happy and feel like I’ve been successful.” Ethiopia is a beautiful country and I’ve been lucky to see a lot of it over the past year. I hope to see more of it in my final 10 months. I’ve learned a lot from my Ethiopian friends and colleagues and I can truly say I’ve grown as a person. So here is to year two!!

Kids on the Aman airstrip 9/19/13

Kids on the Aman airstrip 9/19/13

Now I’m at a hotel in Mizan Teferi and I’m headed to Addis tomorrow (IN A PRIVATE CAR!!!! YAY!!). On Monday, I have my mid-service medical check-ups. How exciting!! Not. I’m lucky enough to be getting a free ride with an organization that one of our superstar 3rd year extender PCVs works with that just happens to be in Mizan. WooT! Once I get back from Addis for my medical check-ups school will hopefully start soon after. If I remember correctly from last year normal classes didn’t really start until mid to late October when all the teachers and administrators got back from summer university programs. So we will see what happens. Well, that’s it! Will try to write again soon! Best wishes from Ethiopia!

 

Leave a Reply

 
LAC Perspectivas

The Latin America Center is the Korbel School’s hub for scholarship and events on Latin America.

Adventures in Ethiopia

27 months in the homeland of coffee

The returned Peace Corps Volunteer

formerly known as 27 months of sunshine

Reflections from Around the World

The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps.

Salem Y'all

From PC Graduate to PC Volunteer

Welcome to the Peace Corps Ethiopia Experience

"It's not where you go, it's what you do when you get there."

Ethiopian Escapades

Leslye's Peace Corps Adventure

The Herald

News for those who served with the Peace Corps in Eritrea and Ethiopia.

Stand Where I Stood

Comments from a millennial feminist who married in her mid-twenties

TD

My life class. On a mission to change the world. (Pictures posted are not mine unless otherwise stated).

winging it with whitey

one solitary man. one great big world. no destination. no common sense. no plan.

the Ishi Bekka Chronicle

The Ishi Bekka Chronicle and bonus features... which in no way represent the views or opinions of the Peace Corps, or the United States government, yet still manage to be enjoyable. If you'd like to contribute to the Ishi, contact us at ishibekka@gmail.com.

scottinethiopia

An education sector Peace Corps Volunter in Ethiopia; The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Diana in Ethiopia

So how am I getting on in Africa?

alternatenavigations

Travels and Plans of a PCV in Ethiopia

SUITS-->ETHIOPIA

Peace Corps (mis)adventures

Courtney in Ethiopia

My meanderings as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia

This is Not Dowagiac

The contents of this blog are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Ityop'ia

An Ethiopian Experience

PeaceCorps-Ethiopia-Benjamin-Morse

Just another WordPress.com site

wherentheworldiselle

just writing my story~

Peace Out Paula

Follow my adventures as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia!

