RSS

I live in the jungle, on a mountain – in Ethiopia

31 Aug

20120831-205604.jpg

Greetings from my new town of Aman near Mizan Teferi. I’m all moved into my new home and now I’m trying to get it all fixed up so I have somewhere nice and cozy to come home to everyday. Well, so far that process is going slow because I have no furniture and I’ve only ordered a bed frame. Slowly but surely things will all come together though. For now, I’m managing and I’ve got a basic setup for what I do have.

I’ve been going around town meeting and introducing myself to all the local town administrators and to the staff at the Aman General Primary School where I’ve been assigned to work. I’ve been explaining that for the first few months at my new site I will be doing research for my CENA aka Community Education Needs Assessment which I will turn in around the end of November when I return to Addis for IST (In-Service Training). Once I’m done with IST I’ll return to Aman to begin working on projects such as starting an English club one for students and another for teachers. At that point I’ll also begin to plan for my first trainings that I’ll give for the teachers at my school. Once I get busy and I have my house set up I’ll really like my town. The people are very kind and all the teachers seem willing and eager to work with me even though some of them have been teaching for 20 years or more. I’m thankful for that. Well, that is it. I’ll end by providing my new address below. Be sure to check my wish list page on my main blog website.

My new address:

Anthony Navarrete
P.O. Box 452
Mizan Teferi, Ethiopia

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2012 in Ethiopia, Peace Corps

 

3 responses to “I live in the jungle, on a mountain – in Ethiopia

  1. Vicky Page Munoz

    August 31, 2012 at 9:25 PM

    Tony, I an so grateful you sound HAPPY
    in your new home …..and that the people
    have accepted you …in time they will come to
    love you like family …..I am gathering things
    up from your ” wish list ” to send …..hang in
    ter ….hugs to you!

     
    • anavarrete2012

      September 1, 2012 at 8:15 AM

      Thanks! 🙂

       
    • anavarrete2012

      October 13, 2012 at 7:07 PM

      Thanks Vicky! God Bless!

       

Leave a Reply

 
LAC Perspectivas

The Latin America Center is the Korbel School’s hub for scholarship and events on Latin America.

Adventures in Ethiopia

27 months in the homeland of coffee

The returned Peace Corps Volunteer

formerly known as 27 months of sunshine

Reflections from Around the World

The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps.

Salem Y'all

From PC Graduate to PC Volunteer

Welcome to the Peace Corps Ethiopia Experience

"It's not where you go, it's what you do when you get there."

Ethiopian Escapades

Leslye's Peace Corps Adventure

The Herald

News for those who served with the Peace Corps in Eritrea and Ethiopia.

Stand Where I Stood

Comments from a millennial feminist who married in her mid-twenties

TD

My life class. On a mission to change the world. (Pictures posted are not mine unless otherwise stated).

winging it with whitey

one solitary man. one great big world. no destination. no common sense. no plan.

the Ishi Bekka Chronicle

The Ishi Bekka Chronicle and bonus features... which in no way represent the views or opinions of the Peace Corps, or the United States government, yet still manage to be enjoyable. If you'd like to contribute to the Ishi, contact us at ishibekka@gmail.com.

scottinethiopia

An education sector Peace Corps Volunter in Ethiopia; The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Diana in Ethiopia

So how am I getting on in Africa?

alternatenavigations

Travels and Plans of a PCV in Ethiopia

SUITS-->ETHIOPIA

Peace Corps (mis)adventures

Courtney in Ethiopia

My meanderings as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia

This is Not Dowagiac

The contents of this blog are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Ityop'ia

An Ethiopian Experience

PeaceCorps-Ethiopia-Benjamin-Morse

Just another WordPress.com site

wherentheworldiselle

just writing my story~

Peace Out Paula

Follow my adventures as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia!

