RSS

Always Something New

22 Jul

Host Family Dog Bobbie making new friends

I now have less than a month to go of pre-service training (PST) before I’m sworn in as an official Peace Corps Volunteer (PCV) on August, 17, 2012.  I’ve had my ups and downs over the last month and a half but there is always something new to brighten my day. After site visit which I talked about in my last post I returned to Gonde to begin a new part of PST that Peace Corps Ethiopia incorporated this year – practicum. This past week we had a full week of co-teaching where we were paired up with another Peace Corps Trainee (PST). We had to prepare our lesson plans together and teach 2nd, 3rd and 4th grades at one of the local primary schools in Gonde. I was paired with someone but I only got to co-teach with him for two days because I had to take a surprise trip back to Addis to see the dentist. That situation is improving so I won’t explain it in full detail but it was an interesting experience. Now we’ve completed co-teaching and starting this next week we have to teach by ourselves, do our own lesson plans, etc. It will be a challenge but it should be fun I think. Practicum so far has given my fellow PSTs and I a chance to see what the reality is in the Ethiopian classrooms, the challenges that are present and what it is really like to be an English teacher here. This will be very helpful once we get to our sites and begin planning trainings for the teaching staff at the schools we’ve been assigned to work at.

Me in Addis the day before I moved to my new town of Gonde

There are a couple of other new things here in Gonde. I don’t have a picture but yesterday I got my first haircut in Ethiopia. I was worried what my hair would like after going to the local barber but surprisingly for the equivalent of about .35 cents (6 ETB) I got a pretty decent haircut. My host father who recently returned home from one of his long business trips went with me to make me feel more comfortable and to translate what I wanted. I had the bright idea of taking an old picture to show the barber what I wanted. I think that was a smart idea because I had no clue how to explain in Afan Oromo or Amharic what kind of cut I usually got.

Then with Meaza, my host father back at home for a few days he decided the family needed to have a nice feast. So yesterday morning he slaughtered a sheep and last night guests were invited over and we all had a nice meal followed by a traditional buna ceremony. However, I snuck out a little early because I was tired. I had never eaten sheep before but it was actually quite tasty. Like I said, there is always something new.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2012 in Ethiopia, Peace Corps

 

3 responses to “Always Something New

  1. stephaniegrass

    July 22, 2012 at 10:12 AM

    I love seeing your updates, Antonio! It sounds like you’re doing really well over there. Can’t wait to see more pictures!!

     
    • anavarrete2012

      October 13, 2012 at 7:07 PM

      Thanks amiga! Hope grad school is treating you well. Un abrazo!

       
  2. Vicky Page Munoz

    July 22, 2012 at 3:54 PM

    Tony, I am so PROUD of you & to see your blog info here ….I look forward to many more & I AM PRAYING 4 U ….HUGS Vicky

     

Leave a Reply

 
LAC Perspectivas

The Latin America Center is the Korbel School’s hub for scholarship and events on Latin America.

Adventures in Ethiopia

27 months in the homeland of coffee

The returned Peace Corps Volunteer

formerly known as 27 months of sunshine

Reflections from Around the World

The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps.

Salem Y'all

From PC Graduate to PC Volunteer

Welcome to the Peace Corps Ethiopia Experience

"It's not where you go, it's what you do when you get there."

Ethiopian Escapades

Leslye's Peace Corps Adventure

The Herald

News for those who served with the Peace Corps in Eritrea and Ethiopia.

Stand Where I Stood

Comments from a millennial feminist who married in her mid-twenties

TD

My life class. On a mission to change the world. (Pictures posted are not mine unless otherwise stated).

winging it with whitey

one solitary man. one great big world. no destination. no common sense. no plan.

the Ishi Bekka Chronicle

The Ishi Bekka Chronicle and bonus features... which in no way represent the views or opinions of the Peace Corps, or the United States government, yet still manage to be enjoyable. If you'd like to contribute to the Ishi, contact us at ishibekka@gmail.com.

scottinethiopia

An education sector Peace Corps Volunter in Ethiopia; The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Diana in Ethiopia

So how am I getting on in Africa?

alternatenavigations

Travels and Plans of a PCV in Ethiopia

SUITS-->ETHIOPIA

Peace Corps (mis)adventures

Courtney in Ethiopia

My meanderings as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia

This is Not Dowagiac

The contents of this blog are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Ityop'ia

An Ethiopian Experience

PeaceCorps-Ethiopia-Benjamin-Morse

Just another WordPress.com site

wherentheworldiselle

just writing my story~

Peace Out Paula

Follow my adventures as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia!

