RSS

An Update on my Life – DePauw, Chile, Peace Corps & Beyond

05 Dec

Peace Corps Ad - Life is calling. How far will you go?

Many people have asked me lately, “What are your plans for after you graduate” so I decided a post about my current and upcoming adventures as well as plans for after I graduate from DePauw was in order. To start off as many of you know I am finishing up my 1st semester of my senior year at DePauw University. I will graduate on May 20, 2012 at 10:30am along with about 530 other students from the DePauw Class of 2012. Commencement information can be found here. Also, for those wondering I will be sending out invites the beginning of next spring, a few months before the actual commencement takes place.

Before next semester starts I have big plans – really exciting plans anyways. I’m going back to Chile for a month. For those of you that understand my love for Chile you will understand when I say I am beyond excited. I will be working for my study abroad program as a temporary program assistant for the duration of DePauw’s Winter-Term (J-Term as some call it) helping out with special projects and tasks around the office as well as planning ahead for next year’s summer program in Santiago. I will leave St Louis on the day after Christmas and will return to the states right before I have to be back at DePauw to start my last semester as a senior on January 27, 2012 (which is also my 22nd birthday). Anyhow, I’m so excited I can’t even see straight and I’m so anxious to get to go back and see my family and friends there. I will be staying with my gracious Chilean host family that I lived with last fall for the month I’m there. My host mom said there was no problem with me staying with her and my two host brothers but that I will pretty much have to take care of myself a little more in terms of cooking, etc unlike before when she cooked and cooked and did my laundry. Poor lady, she is such a good woman. I felt bad when she had to do it for the semester I was there. I am just happy that I will get to see my host family again. They are wonderful! Plus, I’m quite capable of cooking for myself, doing my own laundry, etc. My host mom has enough on her plate as she has recently started her own business which I can’t to learn more about.

Santiago, Chile - View from Cerro San Cristóbal

Now on to the very important stuff. Something that I have grown to be very passionate about in recent years is serving in the Peace Corps after I graduate form DePauw next May. My interest in the Peace Corps sparked back in High School when an alumnus from my high school came into speak with his family about their work and life to my Spanish class. Glenn Blumhorst who is someone I now think very highly of served in the Peace Corps himself in Guatemala and has worked in the field of International Development for years. He is now a Senior International Development Professional who works for a well-known non-profit based out of Washington, D.C. called ACDI/VOCA. I have stayed in touch with Glenn as the years have progressed and with his family and they are great people, and I see Glenn as a personal role model (I don’t know if knows that but if he reads this he will). I started my Peace Corps application back in March of this year and for those of you that are familiar with the application process it can take a while – normally 9-12 months to go through the process. However, I have finally reached the end of the application process and my application now sets in D.C. at the Peace Corps Office of Assessment and Placement where it is under competitive and suitability review. The next step is to receive my official invitation to serve but for now I am waiting for a phone call from my Placement Officer which should be in touch with me sometime before Christmas I’m guessing. As of now, my nomination is to work in Secondary English Education in Sub-Saharan Africa. The region of the world could change but for now I’ve got my heart set on Africa. As soon as I get more info I of course will update everyone.

Well, that about wraps up this post. I just wanted to update everyone on where I stand with plans for after I graduate. I’m kind of nervous and anxious because as is normal with the Peace Corps Application process sometimes you wait and don’t any hear anything from them for weeks at a time but I feel good about my chances to get in and think I will make a great volunteer. As they say, good things come to those who wait. I just have to be patient and let the process play out. I could be moving to Africa next summer I don’t know. It is nerve-racking but exciting at the same time. Thanks for all your support, for now I will continue planning my Winter get-away to Chile.

For those of you that want to follow me in my endeavors please feel free to follow me on twitter @VillaNavarrete.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Chile, DePauw, Peace Corps, Study Abroad

 

2 responses to “An Update on my Life – DePauw, Chile, Peace Corps & Beyond

  1. Heather

    January 8, 2012 at 11:28 PM

    Hey! I am in the same spot in the application process as you are! My nomination is for Business Advising in SSA! Let me know when you get invited – my final interview was last Wednesday and my PO anticipated it being another month before they could send out new invites (they have to place the C/SA people whose programs were cancelled). GOOD LUCK!

     
    • anavarrete2012

      January 9, 2012 at 8:12 AM

      Awesome! I’ll keep you posted! Thanks for reading & Good luck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
LAC Perspectivas

The Latin America Center is the Korbel School’s hub for scholarship and events on Latin America.

Adventures in Ethiopia

27 months in the homeland of coffee

The returned Peace Corps Volunteer

formerly known as 27 months of sunshine

Reflections from Around the World

The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps.

Salem Y'all

From PC Graduate to PC Volunteer

Welcome to the Peace Corps Ethiopia Experience

"It's not where you go, it's what you do when you get there."

Ethiopian Escapades

Leslye's Peace Corps Adventure

The Herald

News for those who served with the Peace Corps in Eritrea and Ethiopia.

Stand Where I Stood

Words from a traveler, teacher, spouse, and feminist...who doesn't see the point of labels

TD

My life class. On a mission to change the world. (Pictures posted are not mine unless otherwise stated).

winging it with whitey

one solitary man. one great big world. no destination. no common sense. no plan.

the Ishi Bekka Chronicle

The Ishi Bekka Chronicle and bonus features... which in no way represent the views or opinions of the Peace Corps, or the United States government, yet still manage to be enjoyable. If you'd like to contribute to the Ishi, contact us at ishibekka@gmail.com.

scottinethiopia

An education sector Peace Corps Volunter in Ethiopia; The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Diana in Ethiopia

So how am I getting on in Africa?

alternatenavigations

Travels and Plans of a PCV in Ethiopia

SUITS-->ETHIOPIA

Peace Corps (mis)adventures

Courtney in Ethiopia

My meanderings as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia

This is Not Dowagiac

The contents of this blog are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Ityop'ia

An Ethiopian Experience

PeaceCorps-Ethiopia-Benjamin-Morse

Just another WordPress.com site

wherentheworldiselle

just writing my story~

Peace Out Paula

Follow my adventures as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia!

