RSS

18 Sep
Happy Birthday Chile!!!

La Moneda, Presidential Palace

     That’s right, Happy Birthday to Chile!!! Chile is celebrating its Bicentennial this weekend. I am very excited to be here, this place is going to be party central. Some students are going out of the city this weekend, but I plan to keep myself right here because I want to see what it is like when another country celebrates its 200th birthday in the main capital city that is. Anyways, things have been going good, really good actually. This is why I haven’t posted anything new in a while, I was slacking off a bit. My first two weeks of helping teach English has gone well. I am a volunteer English language teaching assistant through a program coordinated the Chilean Ministry of Education and the United Nations Development Program called English Opens Doors. I am not the teacher, but rather I assist with class, work with small groups of students, help the class practice speaking, listening skills, etc. You can see a video about the program by clicking here. My first week I did nothing but give a power point presentation about myself and where I am from to all of the 4 classes that I help with. This last week I began working with small groups of students and helping more with individual students. I will keep everyone posted on how this goes but I’m really excited and I think it is going to prove to be a great experience. Although I would like to help, with my weird class schedule I am only able to help with the program 6 hours a week but it is great and I love it and the teachers and the students really appreciate the help as well. This last week, as both a welcome and thank you gift,  the girls at my school surprised the volunteers at the school with little party’s in each class with food and drinks as well as music and dancing. It was very nice.

Military Parade, President of Chile

     Everything else is about the same, school is going well, I had my first exam yesterday. It was a little rough but I’m hoping for the best. What will be, will be. My Language Partner from the School of Business & Economics at the U. of Chile invited me to join him and a friend to go to a soccer match last Sunday. It was actually my 1st soccer match. It was quite awesome, there was a little bit of violence at the game which included a bunch of young teens attacking police officers and vice versa. This all happened on another side of a tall fence so I was safe but I saw it quite clearly. Kind of crazy because I really don’t think they had reason to attack the police officers, they were just bored I guess. On the annivarsary of September 11th, I found out this was also the anniversary of Chile’s military coup in ’73. That night a lot of violence went on as well, including protesters tearing down traffic lights and cutting power to about 150,000 homes (not in my neighborhood luckily) as well as throwing rocks at passing cars and people in certain neighborhoods. While on the subject of protests, there was a strike at the School of Law at the U. of Chile where I’m taking my salsa class so classes were canceled there all last week. Very interesting indeed to watch the news, be a part of and even witness some of these things happen. Well, I must wrap up. My next posts will include news from a trip to Chile’s coastal city of La Serena where I will be going next weekend. I’m also looking into a weekend trip to Mendoza, Argentina but that will be in the middle of October. Hope everyone is well. God Bless and thanks for reading!

Note that the website name has changed for my blog; find the new link here.The feed name has not changed, I just transferred my blog and feed to a new google account b/c of a security breach with my old account. Sign up to receive my posts via email here. View my pics from Chile by finding the new “My Photos” as well as the “Contact Me” tabs at the top of my home page on my blog. Enjoy!!!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
LAC Perspectivas

The Latin America Center is the Korbel School’s hub for scholarship and events on Latin America.

Adventures in Ethiopia

27 months in the homeland of coffee

The returned Peace Corps Volunteer

formerly known as 27 months of sunshine

Reflections from Around the World

The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps.

Salem Y'all

From PC Graduate to PC Volunteer

Welcome to the Peace Corps Ethiopia Experience

"It's not where you go, it's what you do when you get there."

Ethiopian Escapades

Leslye's Peace Corps Adventure

The Herald

News for those who served with the Peace Corps in Eritrea and Ethiopia.

Stand Where I Stood

Comments from a millennial feminist who married in her mid-twenties

TD

My life class. On a mission to change the world. (Pictures posted are not mine unless otherwise stated).

winging it with whitey

one solitary man. one great big world. no destination. no common sense. no plan.

the Ishi Bekka Chronicle

The Ishi Bekka Chronicle and bonus features... which in no way represent the views or opinions of the Peace Corps, or the United States government, yet still manage to be enjoyable. If you'd like to contribute to the Ishi, contact us at ishibekka@gmail.com.

scottinethiopia

An education sector Peace Corps Volunter in Ethiopia; The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Diana in Ethiopia

So how am I getting on in Africa?

alternatenavigations

Travels and Plans of a PCV in Ethiopia

SUITS-->ETHIOPIA

Peace Corps (mis)adventures

Courtney in Ethiopia

My meanderings as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia

This is Not Dowagiac

The contents of this blog are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Ityop'ia

An Ethiopian Experience

PeaceCorps-Ethiopia-Benjamin-Morse

Just another WordPress.com site

wherentheworldiselle

just writing my story~

Peace Out Paula

Follow my adventures as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia!

