RSS

11 Jul
Santiago de Chile: 1 Week
 
In one week from today I will be moving to Chile. I’m so excited I can’t even think straight. 3 more nights of work in Columbia and then 3 at home visiting family and friends before I leave. During the hectic Friday before the 4th of July my mom and I drove to Kansas City to the Honorary Consul of Chile to pick up my visa. Sr. Robert Evans the Honorary Consul is a very very kind man and before we left we spent 10 minutes or so talking. It was great. After that my mom and I stopped by the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City since it was pretty much next door. Even if you may think otherwise it is well worth the visit. The Money Museum is absolutely amazing and it is probably one of the few places you can stand by a case of money containing $40 million.

Anyhow, on to more exciting stuff. On Saturday the following day I received my host family assignment. My family lives in the commune of Providencia which is located near the heart of the Santiago Metropolitan area. My host family includes the mom, Patricia, the dad, Jose and their children Pablo, 21, who is in his 3rd year of studying architecture and Carolina, 23, who is in her 5th year of medical school. I have emailed my host mother Patricia to introduce myself and have already heard back from her. Needless to say I’m not only excited to go to Chile but I’m even more excited to live with a beautiful Chilean family for 5 months. 

Well that is about it from the United States. My next post will come straight from the heart of Santiago de Chile. I promise my posts will get much more interesting then plus they will include some of my personal photos. My flight from St. Louis leaves on Sunday, July 18th at 6:05am and I will arrive in Santiago the next day at 4:45am. Once I’m there I plan to post something on a biweekly basis. Adios America!!!
See this post in its original context by clicking here. Sign up to receive my posts via email here.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 11, 2010 in Chile, DePauw, Study Abroad

 

Leave a Reply

 
LAC Perspectivas

The Latin America Center is the Korbel School’s hub for scholarship and events on Latin America.

Adventures in Ethiopia

27 months in the homeland of coffee

The returned Peace Corps Volunteer

formerly known as 27 months of sunshine

Reflections from Around the World

The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps.

Salem Y'all

From PC Graduate to PC Volunteer

Welcome to the Peace Corps Ethiopia Experience

"It's not where you go, it's what you do when you get there."

Ethiopian Escapades

Leslye's Peace Corps Adventure

The Herald

News for those who served with the Peace Corps in Eritrea and Ethiopia.

Stand Where I Stood

Words from a traveler, teacher, spouse, and feminist...who doesn't see the point of labels

TD

My life class. On a mission to change the world. (Pictures posted are not mine unless otherwise stated).

winging it with whitey

one solitary man. one great big world. no destination. no common sense. no plan.

the Ishi Bekka Chronicle

The Ishi Bekka Chronicle and bonus features... which in no way represent the views or opinions of the Peace Corps, or the United States government, yet still manage to be enjoyable. If you'd like to contribute to the Ishi, contact us at ishibekka@gmail.com.

scottinethiopia

An education sector Peace Corps Volunter in Ethiopia; The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Diana in Ethiopia

So how am I getting on in Africa?

alternatenavigations

Travels and Plans of a PCV in Ethiopia

SUITS-->ETHIOPIA

Peace Corps (mis)adventures

Courtney in Ethiopia

My meanderings as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia

This is Not Dowagiac

The contents of this blog are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Ityop'ia

An Ethiopian Experience

PeaceCorps-Ethiopia-Benjamin-Morse

Just another WordPress.com site

wherentheworldiselle

just writing my story~

Peace Out Paula

Follow my adventures as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia!

